Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Share |

The Annual Kathleen O'Donnell, CRNA, PhD- Excellence in Leadership Award

2018 Recipient - Kimberly M. Lanfranca, MS, CRNA

2017 Recipient - Edward C. Bonk, MS, CRNA

2016 Recipient - Laura L. Ardizzone, DNP, DCC, CRNA

2015 Recipient - Thomas E. Obst, PhD, CRNA 

2014 Recipient - Barbara Capogna, CRNA

2013 Recipient - Lynne VanWormer, MSN, CRNA

2012 Recipient - Donna Karczewski, MS, CRNA

2011 Recipient - Denise Martin-Sheridan, PhD, CRNA

This annual award was created to honor and recognize NYSANA members who have demonstrated superior leadership abilities, excellence in clinical performance and mentorship, and dedicated service to NYSANA.

Kathleen M. O'Donnell, PhD, CRNA- Dr. O'Donnell has been a leader to many SRNAs and CRNAs over her tenure as Chair of the Albany Medical College Center for Nurse Anesthesiology & Professor of Anesthesiology at Albany Medical College. This award is dedicated to her for her outstanding contribution to the field of CRNA education, anesthesia and her dedication to NYSANA. She has been an active member of NYSANA for 45 years and retired as the NYSANA Executive Secretary in 2010. Dr. O'Donnell has been actively involved in SRNA & CRNA education for 45 years as well. In 1974, she began serving on a NYSANA Educational Committee. In 1977 she joined the NYSANA Board of Directors and the following year she became the NYSANA President, serving for 2 years. She continued in her commitment to NYSANA by serving on multiple NYSANA Task Forces after her presidency.  In 1988 became the NYSANA Executive Secretary-a role in which she served in the Association for 22 years.


  • Minimum of 5 years CRNA experience
  • Two letters of recommendation from CRNA colleagues, SRNAs, or Program Directors for schools of Nurse Anesthesia
  • Must have clinical experience in precepting SRNAs
  • Must have served on a NYSANA committee or as a Board of Director
  • Must be a current NYSANA member
  • Copy of Curriculum Vitae
  • Biosketch


  • $400 cash award
  • Recognition trophy
  • Travel expenses & accommodations will be reimbursed for a one night stay at the NYSANA Spring meeting, and registration fee for one day of the meeting will be provided.


Candidate cannot be currently serving on the NYSANA Awards Committee.  Letters of recommendation must not come from currently serving NYSANA Awards Committee Chair or Committee Members.

Nominations & Deadline

Submission deadline is November 1, 2018.  Nominations can be made for yourself or on behalf of another CRNA. Send submissions to David Leal.

The Goldie Brangman Award

2018 Recipient - Lauren Schmitt, RN, BSN, SRNA, (University of Buffalo Nurse Anesthesia Program), The Use of Opioid Free Analgesics for Perioperative Pain Control in Gynecological Procedures: A Systematic Review   

2017 Recipient - Andrea Zumpano, BSN, RN, CCRN, (Albany Medical College), Tranexamic Acid During Spinal Surgery Associated with Decreased Blood Loss and BLood Transfusion Rates  

2016 Recipient - Meredith C. Wing, BSN, RN, CCRN, (Columbia University), Glycemic Variations in Type II Diabetics Given Dexamethasone for Postoperative Nausea and Vomiting Prophylaxis

2015 Recipient - Danielle E. Redmond, SRNA, (Albany Medical College), The Prevention, Early Recognition, and Treatment of Increased Intraocular Pressure for Patients Undergoing Surgery in the Steep Trendelenberg Position

2014 Recipient - Lidiya Pastukh, SRNA, (Albany Medical College), Management of Airway in Patients With Burn Injuries

2013 Recipient - Ashley Mayo, SRNA, Implications of the Drug Abusing Parturient: The Impact on the Parturient, the Fetus, and the Anesthetic Management

2012 Recipient - Meghan McCready, SRNA (Albany Medical College), Peri-Operative Management of the Patient with a Ventricular Assist Device

2011 Recipient - Jeremy Lombardoni, SRNA (Albany Medical College), Treatment of Hypotension After the Induction of General Anesthesia with Vasopressin


To be eligible, the student must be enrolled in an accredited Nurse Anesthesia Program in New York State, or have submitted the work while a student.  The student is eligible for up to one year post graduation.


A cash award of $750 will be presented to the recipient.  The award will be presented at the NYSANA Annual Fall Meeting. Travel expenses, accommodations, and registration fee for the meeting will be provided.


To be eligible for the award the applicant must submit one of the following:

An original manuscript
  •     A comprehensive literature review
  •     An original research study relevant to Nurse Anesthesia practice

The recipient will also be expected to deliver a 60-minute presentation of the winning material during the Annual Fall Meeting.

Manuscript Preparation

Length of the submitted material is at the discretion of the author and is not a criterion of grading. Each manuscript must include a short biographical sketch of the author and an abstract of the article.

Nominations & Deadline

Applications will be accepted starting December 1, 2018. Submission deadline is March 1, 2019. Please send submissions to David Leal.

About Goldie Brangman

Are you aware of what an amazing and inspirational woman Goldie Brangman IS (yes, she is still living in New Jersey at the age of 100!) Ms. Brangman is truly an accomplished CRNA and has been an exceptional mentor for CRNAs all over the world. She was and still is the only African American President of the AANA, she served as founder and director of the Harlem Hospital School of Nurse Anesthesia, she was President of NYSANA from 1960-1961, won numerous awards and honors... the list goes on and on. She retired in 1985, volunteers 8 hours a day with the Red Cross, and still goes to AANA meetings.


Is to be the advocate for and authority on the nurse anesthetist practice in New York State



New York State Association of Nurse Anesthetists
c/o McKenna Management
4 Lan Drive Suite 310
Westford, MA 01886